ANNUAL REPORT

Waukesha Public Library A growing community resource

I am happy to report that 2003 was Waukesha Public Library's best year ever, thanks to the enthusiasm of an increasing number of library customers from our growing community!

We welcomed customers who came to seek information, locate a new book, check out our expanding audiovisual collection, or access our online resources. Many came for highspeed Internet access, to attend a humanities program, a storytime, or community-based meeting.

Other customers discovered the convenience of using the Internet to explore the Library's resources from their home or office.

Thank you for valuing what a public library brings to its community and for supporting the Waukesha Public Library!

> Jane Ameel Library Director

> > www.waukesha.lib.wi.us

## 2003 Library Highlights

- Planning for the first phase of the library's renovation and expansion.
- Sponsorship of the 'Power of Myth' series.
- 'Bright Beginnings' seminar for educators.
- National Library Week poetry events plus Waukesha County Reads programming.
- 'Laugh It Up@Your Library' and 'Stories Jubilee' programs for children.
- Initiating the Teen Advisory Group.

## 2003 Library Achievements

- 1,575,406 items circulated
- 6 515,112 visitors
- 187,721 public internet uses
- 140,428 reference questions answered
- 63,413 online requests filled
- 24,249 children's program attendance

## CAFÉ: Catalog Access for Everyone

In 2003, the Waukesha Public Library premiered CAFÉ, a partnership of libraries sharing a common automation system and public catalog.

Customers may search the holdings of all member libraries simultaneously, or may confine their search to one library's collection. An electronic hold may be placed on any item.

Our first partner, the Brookfield Public Library, 'went live' in February 2003. The Muskego, Mukwonago, Big Bend, and Butler libraries plan to join CAFÉ in 2004.

> Jane Ameel, Library Director Board of Trustees

David Stearns President Dennis Bissett Joan Francoeur Caryn Papenthien Steve Schultz Debra Kau Vice-President Cynthia Deatrick Paul Kasprowicz Luis Rodriguez Elaine Spelius

Sylvia Trewyn